School of Business Partners With Events Industry Leader For Student Competition

During the fall 2014 semester, School of Business students enrolled in Dr. Jack Samuel’s Event Marketing and Planning class had the unique opportunity to participate and in a competition sponsored by Audience Pleasers. Audience Pleasers, located in Garfield NJ, is one of the leading producers of events and entertainment-related projects for corporations, associations, charitable organizations and private individuals. They have a 25 year relationship spanning two ownerships with the events oriented classes and programs at Montclair State University. 

At the end of the semester, the students presented to a panel of judges consisting of School of Business professors, Dr. Wang and Dr. Samuels, along with the Audience Pleasers owner and CEO, Dennis Telischuk. The student presentations included all aspects of the events planning process including concepts, marketing plan, prizes, budgets, staffing, security, and corporate sponsorship.  

This competition allowed students to apply classroom learning to real life business challenges. The School of Business marketing department offers a series of experiential learning opportunities to its students that include internships, co-ops, industry visits, guest speakers, simulation, consulting projects and business games.

Dr.  Samuels said “bringing a real world company into sponsoring this event gave us a new dimensionality to the projects and it is clear that the students really enjoyed competing for these prizes”. 

Dennis Telischuk, owner and CEO of Audience Pleasers, was very  impressed with the student’s work and has committed to an ongoing sponsorship of this project and continuing to bring recognition and support to School of Business programs through the industry in upcoming years.

“This was a great learning experience for our students and we appreciate the support from Audience Pleasers and look forward to future projects”, said Dr. Wang. 

The School of Business students that participated in the completion were the following: Erin Conaty, Kimberly Safina, Edward Simoes, Samantha Skudera, Kristen McGowan, Morgan Nordquist, Drew Greshen, Luis Gonzalez, Michael Mancello, Alexis Marrow, Cody Beard, Abby Erier, Ashley Griffith, and Nicolette Barberri.

For more information about the School of Business, please visit